October 14, 2009

There won’t be any doves

Posted in General wedding, Planning, Tacky alert! at 9:00 pm by Andrea

Like any newly engaged girl — especially one who’s been secretly planning for the last, oh, three years or so — a few days after our engagement I went to our local bookstore to purchase those types of magazines at which I’d stared longingly for so long.  Now, as I said, I’ve been planning for awhile (and by planning I mean voraciously browsing wedding blogs and websites, bookmarking photos and invitation sites, but rarely actually committing to anything in particular in my mind).  So, it’s not like I’m completely anti-wedding or anti-establishment, or any of those uber-trendy stances that so many of my contemporaries are taking.  But, I have to say, the wedding magazines…gah!  Have you read them?  They might as well be candy-coated and written in bubble font with every ‘i’ dotted with a heart: they a little over-the-top, no?

Just say no.

Just say no.

One actually suggesting renting, yes, RENTING lovebirds to place in a birdcage on your guestbook table as a representation of your partnership (I am cringing just writing this).  And the thing is, people DO these things!  I’ve seen them!  People rent doves to release and purchase butterflies and, allegedly, rent lovebirds.

All this to say, that I am not one of those brides (although my coworker did offer to let me borrow her hamster Wally, she said she’d put a top hat on him for my special day).

There won’t be any doves, or lovebirds, or butterflies.

We’re a modern couple with sophisticated taste.  We like clean lines, modern takes on traditional and bending the rules — just a little.

I hope that this blog will provide a space to plan, brainstorm and share ideas as we plan for our coming nuptials in the fall of 2010.  If you’re looking for doves though, look elsewhere.

–A

4 Comments »

  1. Allison said,

    Hello! I’m over here from the Oct 2010 board on weddingbee. I am SO RELIEVED that I am not the only one completely and utterly horrified by the suggestion to rent love birds in MSW. I don’t like any of the other stuff (butterflies, doves, etc) either but the lovebird thing intensely bothered me and I thought “it must be me.” 🙂 Guess not! Happy planning to you – I look forward to reading about your sans birds plans!

  2. Leah J said,

    Yessssss! Amen! I’m right there with you. I don’t know if you read them already, but head right on over to A Practical Wedding and Broke-Ass Bride. They’re two of my favorite down-to-earth blogging ladies.

  3. Allison said,

    I do 🙂 And love them both! When I first got engaged all those fancy schmancy blogs had me hooked, but as the day slooowly gets closer I am starting to delete them from the old google reader. Too much, too ridiculous! Hurray for down-to-earth-ness!

  4. Reading those magazines is like turning to Cosmo for relationship tips. Totally unrealistic for most people. Thank god for blogs about real life wedding!

    Congrats on your engagement! Love your ring.


Leave a Reply

