March 2, 2010

Conversations with my mother

Posted in Attire, Reception, Vent at 9:09 am by Andrea

I love my mum. She and I are incredibly close. We share the same sense of humour (quirky), the same sense of style (classic elegance) and the same “shapely” thighs (you win some, you lose some). We also differ in some areas, one of these being our thresholds for stress. My mother has had more sleepless nights due to the wedding than I have (well, I haven’t had any…I excel at sleeping).

Actual phone conversation that occurred last night:

Mum: MOH’s mum [my mum’s best friend] called and MOH is going to order her dress tomorrow.
Me: Great!
Mum: Wait! Don’t you think there are some things you should do before she goes ahead and orders the dress?
Me: *thinking* Um….no.
Mum: Don’t you think you need to get a sample fabric swatch?
Me: No, I think I’m good to go.
Mum: But Andrea, how are you going to know what the fabric looks like in different light?
Me: Um, I’m not. I imagine it will just look like chocolate brown taffeta….
Mum: [increasingly frantic] And what about the tablecloths?!
Me: What about them?
Mum: Well don’t you want to get a fabric swatch and bring it to the decorator’s appointment on Saturday to make sure the bridesmaids’ dresses match the tablecloths?
Me: Why in heaven’s name would I want them to match the tablecloths?! No one’s going to check to make sure that they’re the same colour. I’m not planning to use the bridemaids as centerpieces. Why would they have to match?! I don’t understand!
Mum: [exasperated] Forget it. I’ll tell MOH’s mum that MOH can just order the dress. And I’ll tell her you don’t care about the tablecloths. She won’t be happy to hear that.

Can anyone explain this to me?! Why would I want everything to match EXACTLY?! I can see how it might have its uses if we needed to camouflage right into the tablecloths…but other than that…what would the utility be?!

[I apologize for the over-use of exclamation points above, but….seriously?]

In the words of the sulla tips (wise words I always try to heed while planning the wedding), “[N]obody ever leaves a wedding saying, “Yeah, it was soooo great! The mother of the groom’s dress was the SAME EXACT SHADE as the bridesmaids’ shoes and the writing on the matchbooks!” People leave a wedding thinking it was great because it felt great – because the bride and groom were in love and happy, and the party felt appropriately joyous, even if there’s not a single Martha Stewart-ish detail anywhere in sight.”

That is all.

3 Comments »

  1. Christina said,

    I found this so hilarious, but I definitely understand your frustrations. Sometimes, the details of wedding planning overwhelm me so much, I wish I could go back in time, get all our deposits back, and elope.

    But we can’t, and I love my fiance, and we’re going to get through all this silliness.

    Here’s to hoping your MOH’s mother won’t be too crushed to hear the tablecloths won’t match her daughter’s dress. 😉

  2. […] my mum that went something like this (have you gotten the idea yet that my mum and I have a lot of phone […]

  3. house garden said,

    LOL This is an example of generation gap. Or personal preferences. You depict it so nice, though. 🙂


Leave a Reply

